5. Abbreviations

ACP	African, Caribbean and Pacific
ALA	Asia and Latin America
AU	African Union
BiH	Bosnia and Herzegovina
Bn	billion
BRICS	Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa
CFSP	Common Foreign and Security Policy
COASI	EU Asia-Oceania Working Party
СРА	Comprehensive Peace Agreement
CSDP	Common Security and Defence Policy
CSO	Civil Society Organisation
DAC	Development Assistance Committee
DCFTA	Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement
DCI	Development Cooperation Instrument
DEVCO (DG)	Development Cooperation
DG	Directorate General
DPRK	Democratic People's Republic of Korea
EBRD	European Bank for Reconstruction and Development
EC	European Commission
ECHO	Directorate-General for Humanitarian Aid
ECOWAS	Economic Community of West African States
EDA	European Defence Agency
EDC	European Defence College
EDF	European Development Fund
EEAS	European External Action Service
EFMN	European Foresight Monitoring Network
EFP	European Foresight Platform

EFTA	European Free Trade Association
EIB	European Investment Bank
EIDHR	European Instrument for Democracy and Human Rights
ENP	European Neighbourhood Policy
ENPI	European Neighbourhood and Partnership Instrument
EP	European Parliament
EPTA	European Parliamentary Technology Assessment
EU	European Union
EUISS	European Union Institute for Security Studies
EUMC	European Union Military Committee
EUMS	European Union Military Staff
EUPM	European Union Police Mission
EUR	euro
EUSR	European Union Special Representative
FEMA	Federal Emergency Management Agency
FLEG	Forest Law Enforcement and Governance
FPI	Foreign Policy Instrument
GAO	General Accountability Office
GDP	Gross Domestic Product
HQ	Headquarters
HR	High Representative (of the Union for Foreign Affairs)
IAEA	International Atomic Energy Agency
ICI	Industrialised Countries Instrument
IfS	Instrument for Stability
IMEMO	Institute of World Economy and International Relations
IMF	International Monetary Fund
INSC	Instrument for Nuclear Safety Cooperation

IPA	Instrument for Pre-Accession Assistance
IPCC	Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
ISAF	International Security Assistance Force
JRC	Joint Research Centre
MEP	Member of the European Parliament
MFA	Macro-Financial Assistance (to non-EU countries)
MFF	Multiannual Financial Framework
MONUSCO	United Nations Organisation Stabilisation Mission in DR Congo
MS	Member States
NATO	North Atlantic Treaty Organisation
NGO	Non-Governmental Organisation
NIC	National Intelligence Council
NSCI	Nuclear Safety Cooperation Instrument
OCHA	Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
ОСТ	Overseas, Countries and Territories
OECD	Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development
OIC	Organisation of Islamic Cooperation
ОМВ	Office of Management and Budget
OPCW	Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons
OSCE	Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe
PHARE	Pologne Hongrie Aide à la reconstruction économique
PSC	Political and Security Committee
R&D	Research and Development
S&T	Science and Technology
SALW	Small Arms and Light Weapons
SAPARD	Special Accession Programme for Agriculture and Rural Development
SATCEN	Satellite Centre
SHAPE	Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe
START	Strategic Arms Reduction Treaty
STOA	Science and Technology Options Assessment
TACIS	Technical Assistance to the Commonwealth of Independent States
TEU	Treaty on European Union

TFUE	Treaty on the Functioning of European Union
UDHR	Universal Declaration of Human Rights
UfM	Union for the Mediterranean
UN	United Nations
UNDP	United Nations Development Programme
UNESCO	United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation
UNGA	United Nations General Assembly
UNIPTF	United Nations International Police Task Force
UNSC	United Nations Security Council
USSR	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
VP	Vice President
WMD	Weapons of Mass Destruction